Question about Markers Window and "Offset"

I am still relatively new to Wavelab and as I finish up my first mastering project with it, I have run across something I don’t know whether or not I should be concerned with.

I have used CD Wizard and edited the CD text. The burned CDs sound and play fine.

However, when I open up the Markers window for my project, I see Offset numbers (-6 ms, -2 ms, -10 ms etc.) before each track except the first track on the CD. I also see an 8 ms offset after the final track. What do these offset numbers mean and how did they get there, as I have not knowingly put them there.

Thanks in advance for any assistance.

Did you quantize the markers to the nearest CD frame or otherwise move the markers from where the CD Wizard placed them?

The offset refers to how far the marker is from the start (or end) of the associated audio clip.

For example, if you tell the CD Wizard to make markers, and do not quantize the markers to the nearest CD frame, all the offsets should read 0s. The CD Wizard will bind the markers to the most logical clip so that when you move the clip, the maker(s) move too but you can of course detach the markers from clips if you prefer.

If you move the markers around, WaveLab will tell you how much they are offset from their associated clip they are bound to. If you should for some reason detach the marker from a clip, the offset reading disappears.

It’s nothing to be concerned about if when you zoom in close to analyze, that the markers are located in an acceptable place and either not cutting off any part of the first track, or perhaps containing a short blip from the previous track.

It never hurts to render a DDP of the montage and open the DDP itself to analyze where the markers landed in relation to the audio,

Thank you very much, Justin for your detailed and clear response - it is very much appreciated!