Recording Audio from a VST Instrument

I’m new to Cubase, using Cubase 9.5 Pro. I viewed the Greg Ondo video on How to Record Audio and MIDI for VST Instruments in Cubase.

In the video, he creates both a dummy output and a Group Track. He then creates an audio track, and selects the Group track output as the input for the audio track. In the video, when he clicks on the audio track input block, he gets a drop down menu that shows the available inputs, and includes the dummy output bus and the group track as possible selections for input. However, when I follow the steps to create the dummy output and the group track, and then click on the audio track input block, the only choices I am given are the inputs. I am not given a choice of using the dummy output or the group track as an input.

What do I need to do so that I can use the dummy output or the group track as an input to the audio track, as Greg does in the video? Is there a preference I need to select to make the outputs visible for selection in the audio track input block?

1 Like

Hi,

First of all, in most cases you don’t need to do this. If you want to Mixdown, you don’t have to record it as an Audio. You can Mixdown from the Instrument track directly.

If you need an Audio, you can use Render In Place.

But if you want to record it this way, there is no special need. Just make sure the Instruments tracks’ output is routed to the Group and the Audio tracks’ output is NOT routed to the Group.

Cubase makes it impossible to make a feedback loop, if a output is not showing up as an input choice, it is because you have something routed in a way that could cause a feedback loop.

1 Like

I’ve had a think about this and i agree “Render in Place”
I’m rendering all Instrumental tracks to audio tracks because when Cubase updates in the future those vst instruments may not be available