Requests for the key editor

Hi,

I’ve been using Dorico for about 3 months and I love it.
I especially love the DAW-like key editor in Write mode, which I can’t find in any other notation software.
However, there are some (lack of) features that keep annoying me, and I have some requests for improvement.

1. The link button shouldn’t be disabled until you click it again.
    (Or at least I want an option to realize it.)

Currently, just scrolling horizontally in the key editor disables the link button. So, even when I click some other area on the score, the key editor stays on the same area.

Logically speaking, the “link” is broken when you scroll horizontally, and it makes sense to disable the link button. However, it’s really troublesome to click the button so often. It’s all the more troublesome because the button is the only way you can switch to other instruments on the key editor.

My current workaround is to never scroll in the key editor, and to click the area in the score where I want to move. But this is unintuitive.
Also, sometimes the zoom control overlaps with the CC lane and I have to scroll horizontally to draw a CC curve.

1. Automations should be copyable to other instruments.

I often need this feature when I’m writing an orchestral piece where I layer some instruments to play the same melody. It’s tiresome to write the same automation curve again and again.

I found this thread and understood that you are already working hard to get this feature back to Dorico 4, so I’m looking forward to it.

1. The heights of the piano roll and the CC lane should be individually adjustable.

Currently, the piano roll automatically shrinks when you click the CC lane, and the keyboard image on the left is often too narrow to see the name of the note I’m working on.
The keyboard image is proportionally stretched if I expand the key editor itself, but then the CC lane is too wide to edit easily.