Send midi out to other softwares including midi clock

Hello,
I am a professional composer and as many I am super tired of Finale.
I downloaded the demo version and I can’t find any way to send midi notes from Dorico or midi clock or time code. With Finale and Sibelius this is pretty straightforward. Is there are hidden menu or a workaround for that? Until now this is the only feature I am missing to be sure I can change my platform.

Are you talking about MIDI export, or are you talking about routing Dorico directly to a MIDI device like…

Or are you talking about sending MIDI to another application? You can do this on Mac using the IAC MIDI bus; I think there are third-party apps for Windows that do this.

Thanks for your replies. I am talking about sending midi notes and midi clock to another software such as Logic Pro X or Ableton.

When I hit play in Finale both softwares are in perfect sync and I can use Ableton to record or process the midi coming from Finale.

Here I include a couple of screenshots of what I consider to be a professional workflow.

this is the dialog from Ableton, where I can receive midi notes (track) midi clock (sync) and midi CC (remote)

Then I can configure Ableton to be the slave and everything is always in sync. The workflow for Logic Pro X is pretty similar.

At the moment, Dorico does not support MIDI timecode (indeed, nor does Sibelius, though it does support ReWire). This is something that we plan to add to the software in future versions.

However, users have reported success using the VST-plug-in TXL Timecode, so you may want to look into that in the meantime:

1 Like

Thanks for the quick reply.
What about sending midi notes over normal midi to other software or hardware synthesizer?

Did you check the diagram I included above?

yes I checked it, thanks, it doesn’t work for me. I still can’t receive notes on Ableton