Single line percussion staves

Hi,

I’m pretty new to Dorico and I still have to struggle to find particular settings for my scores.

Now I’m working on a large orchestral/choir score and to reduce the space I wanted to put all the unpitched percussion instruments on one single line each. When I change e.g. the bass drum 5 line staff into a one line staff, I get all the possible bass drums in my score, which is not the intention :smiling_face_with_tear: . The same for the other unpatched instruments.
So my question: how can I change the existing 5-line staff into a single line staff without having all the other percussion instruments brought in? I’m using Dorico 4 now on a Mac.

Jos

Dear Jos,
I’m afraid I don’t understand what you are experiencing here. It’s my understanding that the interest of using 5-line-staves for percussions is to “condense” different instruments, and this is done in Dorico via drum-kits. But if you’re only using one instrument, of course 1-line-staff is the way.
The Edit Percussion Playing techniques window (Setup mode, the … next to your percussion instrument opens a menu where you find this) allows you to define which techniques are triggered by which notation. It can be by using articulations, decorations on the stem or changing the notehead. Does all this already make sense to you? If so, and you’re still stuck, please post a cut-down version of your project so that we can understand and help!

Thanks for getting back at me.
As I said, I’m pretty new to Dorico (I’m a longtime user of Notion and I use Dorico mainly for engraving after importing my Notion xml-scores). That way, all the percussion instruments are each on a separate 5-line staff, which is for unpitched instrument pretty useless and space consuming.
I still have a lot of trouble to find all the settings in Dorico and to apply them properly in the right context. I like Dorico because of its completeness and clean results, but it’s so difficult to get started with it.