[SOLVED] Latency around 10-20ms. Is it noticable?

Hi guys, this is not a thread for exposing any issue,and this is why I’ve decided to put in in the “Lounge” section.
I just need an advice from more experienced users here.

So, as the title suggests, is the 10-20ms latency something a user can easily notice? (I currently have this latency to my midi setup, I don’t notice anything). And, in case it is noticeable, is it bearable or it can cause trouble?

Thank you!

I’m no expert but I also have that kind of latency with some midi instruments. I can’t feel or hear any delays. Not unless of course you zoom into it. I think the threshold is when you start feeling or hearing delays, which of course, annoys you when you are playing.

1 Like

Thank you very much for sharing your observations!

It depends on the instrument, the artist and the genre and what you are doing. If you are simply recording live with a midi keyboard to a click then you may not notice it. If you are adding guitar tracks to existing material even 10ms is too much.

3 Likes

When playing music in on instrument tracks I can sense the latency delay down to around 15ms – sense mind you. When I set the sample buffer low enough for things to feel nice and tight, I end up at around 8ms round trip.

2 Likes

Thank you for your observations, @microapp! I’m mostly concerned about midi controllers, true!

Wow!

Steve, I’m mostly concerned about creating ARPs and Beats by “abusing” the remote API :slight_smile:
I’ve noticed an additional 10-20ms and that may kill the implementation actually and turn me to code externally.
Thank you for your tip for the buffer, I’ve never pushed it that low, I’ll give it a try!

1 Like

I know. But like I said, I sense it as sloppiness in keeping time. It’s interesting to note that when playing live (acoustically), and the guitarist is, say, 3 meters across the stage, one hears the other player’s pluck with about 9ms delay.