Spectralayers Pro 11 - Laggy Editing?

I’m new to SL with version 11 so I don’t know whether this is normal, but is anyone finding the cursor to be very laggy when the selection and editing tools are selected? Cleaning up sound can be almost a Zen thing when you’re in the zone, but the lag here is really annoying and makes it hard to work effectively.

2 Likes

What are the specs of the computer you’re using?

2019 Mac Pro 16 core, 384GB RAM, 32GB Radeon Pro Vega II, Sonoma 14.5

+1 on this. Editing with erase tool, for example, is incredibly frustrating. Cursor lags mouse by a second or more. OK at start of session but the longer the session (and more editing) the worse the lag becomes. Have tried rebooting and found lag improves somewhat, but only for while then returns. Processor and graphics specs indicate only low demand on the system at the time. Are there any system/graphics tweaks that will improve this?

1 Like

If you look at task manager while doing this, does it show up spiking on either cpu or GPU? I can test this later today(just finished nightshift). My earlier tests haven’t seen this, though I haven’t done editing much… If you have a test project, it would be better, just PM. But I have only 2 windows machines, 7900x/RTX3050 and 4500U.

So far I have only worked with the new Transfer tool in SL11 and yes, it is quite laggy and sluggish.

Not so much early on in a session but, like Filthee describes, there is a build up during sessions and the lagginess becomes more and more disturbing over time, already after 5-10 minutes.

Mac Studio Max M1 64 GB, Sonoma 14.5.

Considering the symptoms you describe, it seems to be related to the transfer tool cache leak issue (which is now fixed with the upcoming patch).

4 Likes

WIN10 Pro, AMD Ryzen 9 5900X 12-Core Processor, 32GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 1660 Super 6GB here. Haven’t seen any spiking during cursor lag.