Spitfire Expression Map confusion

Hello everyone, I’m new to Dorico. I’m very excited about the features coming from Sibelius. I’m having a few issues setting up an expression map however using spitfire libraries in Kontact. I want to add an articulation that isn’t included in one of the articulation sets. Legato Portamento isn’t available. I read that you could load a second instance of the spitfire library in the open version of kontact, lock to UACC and then just assign the legato portamento to slide in the expression map. I did this, but it doesn’t seem to be working. I have both articulation sets set to the same midi channel.

Is this possible? How are you dealing with having access to articulations that aren’t in a predefined spitfire set? There is no way to make your own articulation preset in Kontact is there?

Thanks! This is very confusing. I’ve done a lot of searching and couldn’t really find anything that connected it all together.

Welcome to the forum, @future-relics. I’m afraid I’m not knowledgeable enough about the way Spitfire and Kontakt work to be able to offer any specific advice, but you won’t be able to practically assign two channels in Kontakt to the same instrument in Dorico without using independent voice playback (and then writing the music intended for one channel in one voice, and the music for the other in a second voice, which you then map in Play mode), and that is probably overkill.

Is there another way to reconfigure the patch so that you can access the portamento technique you’re after with e.g. a MIDI controller or a keyswitch?

Hi Daniel, thanks so much for the reply. Really excited about Dorico!

Can you direct me a little more on the idea of assigning different voices to different channels on the same instrument? This could be helpful for me in a couple of situations.