The error correction function is horrible

I am new to Wavelab. The error correction function is horrible. No way to identify errors and fix them normally. We go around in circles, we do not know, even after reading the manual, if the error is corrected. We ask to go to the next error and it comes back. We think we have correct, we ask to check and it brings us the error.

But how can such expensive software work so badly?

I use it all the time because I prefer it to plugins like Restore Rig or Izotope. But since the factory preset called “Click Detection” has been added I think it will continue to garner complaints from first time users of the function. That factory preset uses the function called Digital Click Detection which is really only usable on pristine unprocessed low level material. On any normal mixes you’ll get thousands of detections and an error message. With it’s default settings it marks and “repairs” single samples only, which for the most part is pretty useless in most cases imo.

Use one of the other two factory presets. I think Steinberg should dump, modify, or rename the “Click Detection” factory preset, because this will probably come up again because of it.

“Go to the next error and it comes back” should not be happening in the latest version I don’t think.

You can tell if an error is corrected by the green corrected markers around it, if that’s set in the options.

Like bob99 I use it literally every project, but ‘manually’ … on specific clicks etc that I identify by listening. I don’t think I have ever used the auto-style ‘click detection’ for the reasons he outlined and some others. I also prefer it to third party options, but that comes down to personal preference.