Thoughts on moving on from Sibelius 6

I thought I would post a few thoughts about my current search for a replacement for my copy of Sibelius 6, and invite comment and advice.

I should make clear that I am autistic and I often don’t communicate well. I will try and be both brief and as clear as possible. I will fail.

So.

I would like to replace Sib 6, which is getting both buggy and is unsupported. I am going concentrate on only two possible replacements, and post this post in the forums for both pieces of software, to get as balanced a view as possible.

For reference, I am an amateur musician who mostly does relatively small pieces of arranging, for example pop songs for the local am dram panto, with occasional much larger works, such as now, when I am writing a children’s folk opera with my sister based on “The Wild Washerwomen” by John Yeoman and Quentin Blake.

I have considered, and then rejected, a few pieces of software as follows:

Sibelius Ultimate: It’s like Sibelius 6 but much, much worse. Ugh. Plus I don’t want to have to rely on Avid for support given past events.
Finale: Big, complicated, doesn’t do anything by itself. I’m a composer/arranger, not a typesetter.
Forte / Crescendo / loads of other $100 small software: Nope; I’m not an 11 year old doing Grade 2 Bassoon, and I can already hand write music reasonably well so I don’t see the point in putting in loads of effort to make it look like its 1997.

So, it comes down to Dorico 4 or MuseScore (currently 3, presumably 4 reasonably soon).

Considering Dorico:

I love:

The backstory, and the concomitant likelihood that the programmers are in it for the long haul.

Popovers - genius. A brilliant way of entering data, fast. Redemption which makes up for the fact that this is the same group of programmers who perpetrated the blasted ribbon on Sibelius.