Today I bid you farewell Cubase

Dear Steinberg Team,

I have been using Steinberg DAW since 1987. First PRO 24 then Cubase on Atari STF.

When Atari died, I switched to Apple. I was able to open the sessions created on Atari (.SNG) on my Apple computer without any difficulty.

Over the years, still on Mac OS 9 and then on OS 10, I have updated and upgraded my versions of Cubase up to Cubase Pro 9.

A few years ago, I wanted to import my first Atari (.SNG) sessions into Cubase.

This is not possible, even going through Cubase SX3 on an old Mac running OS 10.6.

This is not possible, unless you go through an Atari emulator, which is illegal.

More recently, I wanted to import Cubase Song sessions from 2001 created under Mac OS 9.

There again I had to find an old Mac computer running OS 10.6 in order to be able to open Cubase SX3 which alone can import these old (20 years, not so old) Cubase sessions.

In fact, for years Steinberg stopped worrying about the compatibility of their files over time. In other words, Steinberg has stopped worrying about its most loyal customers, the very people who have accompanied it throughout its history from its inception to the present day.

Why, for example, since 1987 have Steinberg never considered creating a simple utility to convert their oldest sessions to date? Why do Cubase users have to find an old computer on which to install SX3 in order to simply import an old Cubase session? Worse, why do Steinberg users simply no longer have access to their .SNG files?

In short, while we can recover, even degraded, files like Word, Excel and others abandoned, why is it impossible for Cubase?

Today I bid you farewell Cubase. I liked you very much. But Iā€™m leaving you for another DAW.

Christophe D

7 Likes