UR22: Input level way too high

Honestly, I am pretty close to cry… :cry:

I got the problem that all of my guitars are clipping when I use them on input 2 with Hi-Z activated. Without Hi-Z the guitars sound like crap. This has already discussed in some other threads here and I still didn’t find a solution yet.

So I got myself a Radial Pro48 Active Direct Box. Now my guitar goes into the Pro48 and then via XLR into one of the inputs on the UR22. The Hi-Z is not necessary anymore since the signal is already converted by the Pro48. With a smile on my face I started playing and imagine what happened. The signal is still way to hot and clipping like hell. Happily the Pro48 has a -15dB Pad function. So I eagerly press the button… and it’s still clipping!

I converted the signal via Pro48, lowered it by -15dB, Hi-Z on the UR22 is off and the input gain is at zero. So why is it still clipping and what the hell can I do now?!

I am really a noob with all that technical stuff, therefore I am very thankful for any help.

You’re not alone :frowning: :

And did you solve the issue somehow? How are you recording your guitars at the moment?

I am going to send the Pro48 back since I have no use for it like that. Can anybody recommend a direct box where I can manually control the output level with a knob or something? So that I don’t clip on the UR22 input anymore.

Again, thanks for any help.

I use a RME Hi-z input to record guitar :unamused:
Now I only use the UR22 with my laptop to record midi with a Roland e-drum, I know it’s ridiculous to use this unit only as midi interface, but I haven’t found another way to use it due to those preamp without pad.

On the UR22 in put is too hot for guitar, for some mics… without any pad it’s most of the time unusable for me.

I can see any to your (our) problem, never had any answer from Steinberg on this forum.
I was hoping that there will be a firmware update or a software update that can solve this problem.