UR44 Basic Operations

I’m new to the world of modern computer audio interfaces. I think that the UR44 will do everything I want, but I’m very confused about some of the simple details of its operation. I have two uses planned for the UR44: recording with an iPad, and as a mixer for live performances.

From a thread here on the forum and the UR44 user manual, it appears that the unit can be used as a standalone device, without a computer or iPad attached. Is this correct? If so, how do you get the UR44 to save the mixer settings when the iPad is disconnected? Will these be stored indefinitely, or are they lost if power to the UR44 is disconnected? Also, if I set up the mix using DspMixFx on the iPad and then switch to another app on the iPad (such as ForScore, a sheet music viewing app), will DspMixFx continue to run in the background, or do I need to save the mix to the UR44 before switching apps?

For recording, I don’t quite understand how the various software components work together. I understand that the DspMixFx app is used to set the levels for the various inputs and outputs. But how does this relate to a DAW on the iPad? Does a DAW (such as GarageBand or the iPad version of Cubase) run simultaneously with DspMixFx and somehow receive audio from it? Or does the DAW control the UR44 directly, without using DspMixFx at all?

Thanks for any help you can provide to clear up my confusion!

• Hal -

Understand the difference between ‘used’ and ‘controlled’. It can be used standalone, but how it is set up will have had to be done beforehand with a computer or pad. These settings are indeed stored in the device - even when turned off. It’s just a pity that no mechanism on the device itself is provided to switch between various presets …