UR44C not recording or finding microphone

Hi community
I am brand new to recording and using my ur44c.
I can record my guitar (hurrah!) but am having problems recording audio with Samson Q7 microphone. I wonder if I have the drivers set up. Any suggestions?
Thanks…

Hi and welcome to the forum,

If your mic needs Phantom power, switch the +48 button On, please.

In Cubase open the Audio Connections > Inputs and Add Buss > Mono. Set the Audio Port to Mono In 1 (or where is your mic connected to), please.

Hi Martin
Thanks for that. Still no luck. My mic does not need phantom power as it is dynamic. I turned it on anyway.

I tried opening audio connections etc as you suggested.

I was not able to set the machine to mono in. Can you see photo below.

I have a MacBook Pro.

Peter

Hi,

As far as I can see, Cubase doesn’t see your UR device. Make sure you installed the latest driver, please.

Hi Martin
Thanks for that. I have installed the latest driver. (Pretty sure I did it before but apparently not successfully.)
I can see the ur44c now on each of the channels.
Still unable to record with mike. Can you suggest the next step…
I do not have speakers apart from the macbook pro so have been trying to use those. I do have headphones.
Peter
Thanks
Peter

Hi,

As you are on Mac:
Make sure Cubase has enabled Mic in the System Preferences, please.
Open macOS System Preferences > Security & Privacy > Privacy > Microphone. Enable Cubase here.

Hi Martin

Yes I did as you have suggested. No luck.

I have spent considerable time trying to find out why the mike is not working.

Does it make any difference that I do not have speakers? How can I tell cubase to put the output through the MacBook speakers.

Interestingly I can see my mike is working when I go to MacBook system settings audio- I can see the levels changing.