User compositions (reraising 2020 topic)

As composers, I know we all allow others’ musical ideas to “influence” our own. Does anyone else feel it would be a great idea to have a page dedicated to users’ original compositions - pieces that they are prepared to share as ‘open source’ material?

I’m a mere ‘amateur’ composer and I know that I would find such a thing useful. I emphasize that I’m not looking for an opportunity for bald plagiarism. As we all know, we sometimes hear something - a phrase, harmony, counterpoint, or whatever - and wonder, “how did he/she achieve that?” To be able to answer that sort of question in a Dorico context is what I’m talking about.

I’m also no expert on web-site design but, if the idea were taken up, I would suggest there might be category sub-pages - like orchestral etc., perhaps mirroring the Dorico template choices. I would also look for it to contain Dorico scores, rather than sound files (like MP3, etc), although those might be useful to reinforce a score because of sound library differences.

I’m just putting this out there as an idea. Please don’t Flame me for it!

1 Like

Don’t know about Dorico, but I would be glad to participate and/or hear what others are doing

Musescore has a site for something like that, but inevitably it is full of a large percentage of rubbish. I suggest the best thing is just to sample the huge number of scrolling/paging score videos on youtube.

I’d be prepared to develop and host a site like that, but I may not be the right person because I would insist on curating it to avoid the problem of building up a large collection of poor work.