Using Cubase Pro 11 with the Yamaha PSR-SX900 keyboard

I would like to ask a question about using a Yamaha PSR-SX900 keyboard directly with Cubase Pro 11. Transferring the midi data into Cubase works well, but, after that, few standard Cubase manipulations seem to work. For example, once I have got a track as I want it (and editing, amending is so much easier in Cubase than on the Yamaha keyboard) , I can’t render it in place as an audio track and therefore add processing or control it in the mix in the usual way.

I am pretty new to all of this and although I have found your online tutorials extremely helpful, it seems as though few people like to play/compose music as a rough multi-track “performance” on a keyboard, as I do, and then drop it into Cubase for (in my case, a lot of) tidying-up, individual track processing, mixing and mastering.
The voices on the Yamaha really are something special, so that’s I am particularly keen to do things this way. Pre-sales advice from Yamaha indicates a complete synergy between Cubase and Yamaha (I understand Steinberg and Yamaha work closely together) but, as it stands, it’s not working for me; and I suspect this is because of lack of knowledge on my part.

I have, of course approached Yamaha about this several times, but they tell me to “Talk to” Steinberg!

Any help or pointers anyone could give me would be very much appreciated. Thanks.

Hi,

Do you use the PSR as the sound generator? Do you send the MIDI data from Cubase to PSR? If yes, how is the Audio rooted from PSR to Cubase, please?

Hi, Martin.

Thanks for getting back to me. I’m fairly new to all of this so I hope I describe things properly.