VCA Faders vs Group Channels

Someone please help me understand; I’m not getting the value of this.

I understand from reading other posts that one advantage of VCA Faders over Group Channels is that the proper ratio of post-fader send effect signals are preserved when a VCA Fader is adjusted, as opposed to a Group fader. However, won’t the VCA Fader mess things up as far as insert effects on a Group?

Example: A drum kit’s tracks are all routed to a Group Channel. Individual tracks, such as the snare, have some send effect room ambiance or plate reverb. On the Group Channel, a compressor is inserted to gently glue the kit together. While a VCA Fader would properly maintain the send ratio for the snare, adjusting it would also mess up the level going into the Group Channel inserted compressor. Seems like the VCA solves one problem, but creates another.

I’m new to this, so someone please tell me what I’m missing.
Thanks!

When using a group channel and an exclusive send channel with the output routed to that group, it should not mess up things.
A Vca fader is like a selected faders link, so not really very exciting for me.

You’re not missing anything! :wink: You’ve just outlined a situation where you’d have to watch for a particular setting when making changes. It’s no different than without VCA Fader.

That’s exactly what would happen. But, in your case, once you’ve got the kit feeding into the compressor, and you like what it’s doing, you wouldn’t want to change the faders feeding into it anyway… That would change how the compressor acts!
If you need to change just the snare, you hold down the link-defeat modifier and change just it.

VCAs really are just a “skin” for linked faders (with a cool automation add-on)

I have had several uses for VCA faders already, for example when I want to nudge something up/down without messing with the inward automation.

Yeah, they’re super-handy… As long as I can remember the faders are linked!. :wink: