VST Amp Rack issues.... [solved]

Just bought and installed Cubase 6 and was surprised to find how awful the VST Amp Rack sounds. Most of the amp models sound like putting your guitar through a lousy fuzz/distortion pedal and then straight into a mixer.
In comparison to IK Amplitube 3 it’s really like day and night… Even the old Cubase Amp Simulator sounds 100 times better than the Amp Rack.

Or am I doing something wrong?

Probably. I’m by no means a guitar expert, but I find the VST amprack sounds a lot better than the ampsim.
Play a little with the mic positions, they make a big difference.

You’re probably doing something wrong. Amplitude’s not cheap and it isn’t that good for the money. The Amp Rack is part of Cubase but you don’t have to use it.

Actually, I think the VST Amp Rack sounds pretty damn excellent. I have two problems with it though, main one is it keeps crashing Cubase constantly and causing me to lose everything I was working on even with auto-save set to every 5 minutes. And I have nothing else loaded but the Amp Rack when this happens. The crash log in the Event Viewer does indeed point to the crash occuring in a VST3 plugin. I posted about it here but now my post is three pages back so I don’t think Cubase will do anything unless others complain of crashing.

Second, while it sounds awesome I can’t seem to get rid of this “boxy” sound to the amps. It makes the guitars sit outside the mix a bit and not blend in smoothly. Seems like some kind of mid-range notch filter or something even though I have nothing else going on but the amp and cab. Outside of that though I think it compares extremely well to other amp sim VST’s out there. I also own Guitar Rig 3 and think the amps sound pretty awful, however I’ve used it with amazing success just as a cab sim for my Mesa Triple Rec’s direct line out. Sounds just like a mic’d amp.