VST Instruments vs. Add Instrument Track?

Hello I’m still a noob and I’m having a hard time find the advantages and/or disadvantages of using ‘VST Instruments (f11)’ vs. using ‘Add Instrument Track’.

Couldn’t locate answer in the manual, unfortunately. Both appear to allow one to do the same thing (add vst) but I’m sure there’s more to it.

Would someone be so kind to enlighten me…thanks :slight_smile:

Read the manual once more - the pros and cons are explained there.

I appreciate your response, but it was not helpful.

Could you point out a chapter at least…I’ve read the manual from front to back, not for this matter of course but for general knowledge of Cubase.

I prefer not to read 500+ pages again for something you could easily point out or explain to me…if you understand what I’m asking for. It’s not an easily understood read…

Using F11 gives you better controls.

Let’s say you want to add a drum VST (Superior or Addictive, whatever) and you want all instruments (kick, snare, hat, toms, cymbals, ect) as single channels for this VST inside the Cubase Mixer, then you first add this VST using F11 and “activate all outputs” by clicking on the smal icon with the error (right).

Wow thanks for your response MOVE!

Am I to understand that F11 is better for multi-timberal instruments (hope thats the correct phrasing) or VST’s that contain different sounds playing at once?

Does this mean that each sound that this VST contains (or is playing) will have it’s own fader/mixer path? Which also means that you will be able to edit (fx, pan, etc.)each sound coming from it individually, right?

I appreciate you response…

Yes this is the reason. If you add those drums VSTs only as an Instrument you will have to use the mixers and controls that are inside the drum VST (which is a quick way to test but not perfect for advanced drum sounds).

Adding them via F11 (as a “VST Instrument Channel”) gives you full control over each sound.