What Is The Best Way To Learn Cubase 7?

The title of this thread says it all but before answering I think knowing my background and what I have done so far as well as my experience to date is relevant. So please bear with me.

I’ve been doing studio recording for over 35 years. I started with a Teac A3440 and a Moog Sonic 6.

35 years later, after having put together a $20,000 hard wired recording studio, I am switching over to PC based recording.

Needless to say, this has been major culture shock for me. I knew there was going to be a learning curve here but having extensive understanding or input/processing/output using old fashioned keyboard, sound modules, effects processors, mixers and mastering hardware, I was confident that I’d be able to do basic things relatively quickly.

This is what I have done and discovered so far.

1. Watched ALL the video tutorials. They are okay but only help so much. The biggest problem being, when they say “Bring up ” you really can’t see what they’re doing. The video resolution is just too small. Plus, my memory at age 55 isn’t what it was at age 20. I find I’m going into the software after watching the video and saying to myself “What was that menu option again?” It’s slow and it’s frustrating. I simply can’t learn from the videos. I’ve tried.

2. Gone through pages and pages of this forum. The problem there is everything is random. And using a search function doesn’t help much if you don’t know what it is you’re searching for to begin with. Plus, many threads have very few responses so are only so helpful regardless of the topic.

3. Started going through the PDF. I have found that the explanations don’t go into enough detail to make them useful enough. Plus, I’m still not finding them helpful when it comes to just finding where functions are. And with a piece of software this immense, there are hidden functions multiple layers deep. I feel like I’m swimming in the Atlantic Ocean.