Will anyone miss Waves?

Well , looks like another new ear has started .
No more perpetual licences , subs only , the audio industry seems to be one step closer to ‘renting’ everything .
I have used Waves for 20 years but only own about 20 of their plugins ,so i can work around them IF for some reason they stopped working in later versions, but turning a company totally subscripted ?

Big mistake

5 Likes

I have only one favorite (DPR-402) in the range and use some other plugs sometimes.
Well, the most Waves plugins I will not miss that much.
Maybe the H-Delay and the H-Comp a bit.

I was thinking about to buy an eMotion LV1 system. But now, I’m done with it.

2 Likes

Agreed.
As an amateur, I will never settle for subscriptions. I did it once and regretted it.

And the question is: Why offering only a subscription option?
My guess: They have reached the limit of updating/upgrading/improving their plug ins. So they cannot lure you into paying for an improved version of a beloved VST.
And offering a scalable UI as an improvement is quite an insult to the customer.
Waves may be popular, but their is a lot of competition out there creating great plug-ins and effects that we can just purchase and own forever.

3 Likes

Yep , there’s a few i think , i love the sound of the old Trueverb .
I can see there’s going to be a bit of back pedalling by Waves , it’s a big step to turn a business fully subscription

For me ,it just proves a point that any software company has the chance of being the next ‘Camel Audio’ and ditching certain clients for a new model , this is where you have to be sooooooo careful choosing where you buy your tools .

1 Like

Their business model of selling cheap plugins and giving away freebies over the past year made me suspicious… You could see they were reeling people in to set something like this up.

I nearly bit a few times, such as the creative sampler and manager that they were pretty much giving away. But i’m glad I didn’t.