Wouldn't a Cycle Mode be great in Dorico 4

First of all, Dorico 4 is fantastic. The jump bar alone would have been enough to make this worth the wait.

Listening to Daniel discuss the new mixer and turbo-charged play mode on Scoring Notes made me go and explore the new VST effect plug-ins.

I’ve started exporting mp3 files for my pupils so they can hear how music I’ve arranged should sound—something I’m more inclined to do now that Dorico is even more DAW like.

As I was adjusting some of the effects I thought, “Wouldn’t Cycle Mode be great in Dorico 4.” I’m no expert user of DAW’s, but when I do work in Logic Pro (sorry Cubase) I often loop a section and then make adjustments to reverb, compression, etc.

The Dorico team deserve a holiday so they can recover from the exertions of releasing D4, but perhaps after an all expenses paid trip to the Bahamas, borrowing the Cycle Mode from Cubase would be a cool addition.

Cubase: Project Window Toolbar
Screenshot 2022-01-19 at 18.34.21

6 Likes

You want to record multiple takes in a cycle, like in Cubase, or you want to loop a section for playback, or something else?

I know this situation and I use a workaround where I select or create a repeat sign and then in the properties panel activate the switch “play n times” and enter a high number.

1 Like

And here I was thinking someone wanted to be able to load Dorico onto his Peleton. Silly me. :bike:

4 Likes

That’s a useful workaround.

Hi Daniel,

For me it would just be to loop playback of a section.

For example, I had a score with just a few bars of trumpet which I added a VST effect to. I wanted to adjust the effect as I listened to it. I kept stopping playback, returning to the start of the trumpet solo, playing it again and adjusting the effect as I listened.

The suggestion in this thread of adding a repeat section in the music with multiple passes is a good workaround, but having a feature similar to cycle mode in Cubase would be better.

Best wishes,

Harry