Wouldn't Change A Day *UPDATED*

Here’s one I just finished.
http://www.soundclick.com/player/single_player.cfm?songid=10924387&q=hi&newref=1

This is my first try at recording acoustic guitar. It’s a cheap old Yamaha acoustic with a cheap LDC mic (AT2020) in a space that’s pretty dead. The acoustic parts are all doubled and panned hard left and right. Bass is a Fender Jazz bass using amp’s direct out, and electric is the trusty old Strat through Guitar Rig. Various virtual drums and percussion.

Would appreciate your comments and suggestions, especially on recording acoustic. Thanks.

Early

what a cool arrangement, love the change. the acoustic seems really close to the tone of the electric or was it all acoustic except for the lead spot in the change.
sounded great to me

A pleasant listening experience. I like the rhythm shifts. If anything, the acoustic sounds a bit sterile and one dimensional. But what do I know? It’s all a matter of personal taste I suppose. Overall I would probably prefer a little fuller mix. But, again, personal preferences …

Thanks for listening, Bob. I doubled the electric on the second time through, so you’re just hearing both instruments together, I think.

Scott, thanks for the feedback. Did you mean fuller sound for the acoustic guitar, or overall? I had cut the lows on the acoustic guitar, maybe I went too far.

I just listened again through my headphones this time. I guess what I’m hearing with the acoustic is almost like a brittle, sharp attack. I’m not sure what I’d suggest to change, though.

The background during the guitar solo bit sounds really nice.

I think what I might be missing is a little more low end in the drums/percussion. I’m not feeling a kick.

Then again, after mixing my latest tune my ears are probably not in the best shape to be judging anything! :laughing:

Very easy on the ear this Sunday morning. Very well done on this :sunglasses:
Cheers
Phil

Thanks for listening, Phil!

Nice, very relaxed :slight_smile: