Barres and fret numbers

I’m slowly going through the back-and forth process of adding barre lines to guitar music. I have figure out how to set a duration for the barreb but I cannot figure out the last step: how to add a frey number so you’ll know where to position it. Akso, information such as the duration lin e and the half- or full indication are below the staff, where they should be above it. Thankyou

1 Like

Hey!
I am a guitarist and willing to help, but since guitar notation can be somewhat non standardized, do you have an example of what you want to achieve? :wink:

Benji

Thanks for the reply, Benji. I thought that classical guitar music was very much standardised! Anyway, in the example the full barre on the 5th fret goes from the first beat in the bar to the first beat in the next bar.

01 - Full score - Untitled Project 1.pdf (25.3 KB)

I forgot to mention, 6th string down to D

Well, I don’t play classical guitar, so… :wink:
But I’ve wrestled with position markers, Barré and fingerings for a good while now…´
Here’s what I do:

For the Barré indication, use the provided “C”-Symbol, as you’ve figured out :slight_smile:, and you can set it above or below.
I also made positioning indicators in Roman numerals as Playing Techniques. The cool thing is, in my playback setup, I have a VSTi that can respond to these PT, so it sounds very authentic!
Let me know if this helps…

Benji

I’ve just replied this one to someone else!
But here is what I suggested anyway…

https://forums.steinberg.net/t/re-barre-chord-fingering-annotations-for-classical-guitar/728114
and my latest userlibrary is
userlibrary.xml (260.5 KB)

Andy, when I click on the link, it says ‘private’.

Sorry about that. I’ve copied the content out here …

I hope this works easily for you.
Here is the user library file…
userlibrary.xml (260.5 KB)

Here’s an example of what the result looks like and an image of where to put the file.