Clip jumps in musical mode [on/off]

Hello guys!
I’m still learning cubase. Recorded a few clips at 80bpm. Then when I change any clip to a musical mode it jumps like that. Is it a bug?
Thanks

1 Like

Hi,

Could you try in the Cubase Safe Start Mode [Disable preferences], please?

This is a bug with the Snap Point, disabling preferences won’t fix anything, it has been tested thoroughly already.

Please see the following topics for full description :

2 Likes

I did. So if I start a new project, it works as expected. However, if I disable preferences and load my current project - no difference, it still jumps.

Good to know, thank you!

Observe that the snap point is set to 1.1.1.0 on the selected event.
I found that the unwanted moving happens also when you cut an audio event (snap points are both on the start position of the event), select any of the two events and switch it to Musical Mode. Cubase automatically puts the Snap point at the end of the original event’s end. It then moves the first event to end on the same spot as the second event does.

It’s probably the same root cause but you can’t even avoid it by carefully placing the Sanp point.

This…

becomes this:

1 Like

No, it put the Snap Point at the end of the new Event after making the split left to the original Event’s Snap Point, in which case the Snap Point of the original Event remains where it was.

By reading your post I think you don’t understand what the Snap Point is.
The Snap Point is the Snap Point, not the Event Start.

The link to this exact issue was already posted in my post above.

Ouch, that hurt.

I’m really sorry if I misinterpreted your description, but the order of the sentences makes it quite difficult to understand.

Why do you say “both” ? Is the parenthesis the situation before or after making the split ?

Does that mean the snap point is at the event start before enabling Musical Mode, and enabling it makes the snap point move to the event end ?