Double triplets to sextuplets - the easy way?

Seriously, isn’t there an easier way by now to convert double triplets into sixtuplets than to activate insert, delete the triplets, select the notes that are now all messed up, hit shift ; for the popover and then typing 6/4 + enter??

I just want to combine two groups of 3 sixteenth triplets into a single sixtuplet with the correct labeling (6 instead of two 3:s).
Furthermore, I may be doing something wrong as I’m new to Dorico, but using the insert function and changing selected notes this way in an already existing arrangement (in this case a symphonic score originally produced in Cubase and transferred as a MIDI file) results in the remaining music in the entire instrument part being shifted beyond recognition, until the correct note values are reinstated for that particular segment. Everytime I do this it makes me horribly nervous about the risk of accidently changing something without remembering what or where, which means having to go back to a previous save file losing hours of work in the process. Am I missing something?
I’d very much appreciate some help.

1 Like

Due to the solid way Dorico has been designed and programmed, you really have no reason to be ‘horribly nervous’ when changing triplets to sextuplets using Insert. I’ve often done this, even with multiple voices within the staff, and it has never created problems.

1 Like

Thanks for your comment. Although with ”horribly nervous” I didn’t mean that I’m particularly worried about dorico messing things up. It has rather to do with the risk of me losing track of where I am if I, say, get interrupted during the insert process.
Good for you that you seem to be quite pleased with the way this works. However, I find this method pretty counter-intuitive and it feels like an unnecessary workaround for something that should be very simple. Select the groups of triplets you want to convert to sextuplets, click, done.

1 Like