drum programming

I’m a total newbie and I’m wondering about drum programming. I am using Addictive Drums 2 for my drum sounds in Cubase 6.5.

This tutorial shows us how to set up separate channels in the Cubase mixer so we can manipualate the tracks with the effects in Cubase AND record audio (How to set up Addictive Drums in Cubase - tutorial - YouTube) . Why wouldn’t I want to just set up separate channels as in this tutorial (Cubase Addictive Drums Multi Track - YouTube), recored two channel stereo MIDI and just control volume and effects in the Addicitve Drums mixer instead if I’m satisfied with the effects in their program?

There’s no rules to how you have to do it.

Some people, myself included, like more flexibility having the tracks separated in Cubase.

Other people are fine doing everything within a drum program and sending a stereo out.

Is it important to record the audio, though?

What types of flexibility issues would i miss out on if I can control those factors in the Addictive Drums mixer?

^ Follow this, TKM, and you’ll be fine. Be creative, have fun. It’s an art, not the “law of the land”. :wink:

You’d be missing out only on the ability to mix the drum tracks individually through Cubase plugins, send FX, and routing.

I’ve done some fine mixes where all the processing was done solely within Superior Drummer. But, it’d be harder to achieve a full-fledged modern rock tone just within a drum VSTi. But, the song dictates the mix. No reason why you can’t.

Thank you gentlemen for the responses, much appreciated! :slight_smile:

one important thing is, your plugin only has a limited life. It will only be supported so many years before new versions, standards and OS changes makes it useless. If You record every drum to audio you will still be able to use them many many years from now.
When you are mixing your Greatest Hits album, and just want to change that snares reverb to something more modern ? :astonished:

This is a great point! :smiley: