Feature request - TIny but important for composers

Like many composers, I have a master Template. In this master template I have my instruments, from many companies, arranged into folders, often into sub folders and sub-sub folders. Example: Strings/Violins/Solo Violins. Doing this makes the template unuseable - why?
In order to avoid clutter I like to hide all my unused/disabled tracks. Let’s say I am working on a quartet. I want to select only a “EW Solo Violin”. As soon as I unhide it I see in the project window not only the violin, but also it’s nested folders and subfolders - three of them. Sure, I could pull it out of these folders and then hide them all again, but this destroys the integrity of the template.

Solution? Simple. Please make folders hideable. This would make folderised templates much more useable.

Z

I got around the problem by deleting all the subfolders.
I only have the instrument family folders
Woodwinds Brass Strings etc…
And it’s much clearer
On the other hand, it is necessary to create lots of PLEs of visibility

Another solution to this, could be to set max limit for folder height,

Set Track Height Limits per Track Type in preferences, as well as, individual track height lock - Cubase - Steinberg Forums

Then you would just open all folders instead of “hiding” them, which, could get confusing.

What is a PLE?
Seems simple to me for Steinberg to include “hide folders” in an update
Z

Project Logical Editor

I agree with your FR, it’s a bit tricky in describing it though because ‘hide’ could be interpreted as how we currently hide things which would hide the folder and everything in it. The language needs to be differentiated somehow… ie, hide folders without hiding their contents.