No sound output in audio mixdowns (Cubase 12 Elements)

Ok, I’m an extreme newb to Cubase (and these forums) but I have a problem I can’t seem to solve. When I export any audio mixdown (.wav or .mp3) it seems to work ok, but the resulting file has no sound. The project itself plays fine (in Cubase, when attached to my Moxf8) so I know the sound is there.

I’ve ensured that the ‘monitor’ is deselected, and the ‘record arm’ is also deselected. I’ve tried exporting in real time and not. I’m sure the problem is something pretty obvious, but I’m not seeing it.

Thanks in advance for any help, and I will gladly provide screen shots as/if requested.

With no information about your project, it’s very hard to tell…
What is connected to your loudspeakers?

My moxf8 is connected to a 4-channel amp, which is connected to the speakers. I connect the moxf8 to my computer with a USB cable (‘D’ connector on the keyboard end).

When I play the project back, it plays fine (through the speakers connected to the moxf8). When I export a .wav or .mp3 file there is no sound using any program that plays either format, but the length of the export is correct.

I will gladly provide any other information that might help. I’m just not sure where I’ve gone off track…

What do you mean exactly ?

1. Is the resulting file is silent/empty ? (the waveform is completely flat when you import it back into Cubase).

2. Or are you trying to read the file in another program while Cubase is running at the same time ?

1 Like

It sounds like you are using only MIDI data in Cubase to steer your moxf8, not any audio tracks.
All the sound is generated inside your keyboard and sent to the speakers but nevers enters Cubase. So naturally, when you record, there is nothing to record.

There is a thread about moxf8 and Cubase. Better to look at the second solution first :slight_smile:

1 Like