Playing back Dolby Atmos from Nuendo 11 - where is the (or my brain) gap?

Hi folks,

I am trying to resolve a potential brain gap on Nuendo 11 and Dolby Atmos.

I am just an ambitioned hobbyist and Nuendo-wise most likely far away from you Pros.

What I am trying to achieve is to mix synthesizer-based music with 3D-Audio. After exporting it I want to play it back (audio only) on my Atmos home theatre system system with a 5.1.5 speaker setup. The mixing and playback from within Nuendo on a discrete 7.1.4 setup in my amateur studio works

With Nuendo 11, I was flashed that now Atmos mixes can be done without the Dolby Producer Suite or Media Suite and also without a pricy software RMU or the even pricier hardware RMU. But I did not get any further with the ADM export.

This is were it breaks (my head).

What is the missing piece to get the exported ADM-File (waves + metadata) to be played back on my Atmos AVR?

I had thought, that Nuendo can at least generate EAC3-Files, which can contain Dolby Digital Plus (DD+) in Dolby Atmos format. Sure, DD+ has reduced bitrate as compared to Dolby True HD. Had even hoped, that there is a path to Dolby True HD within Nuendo 11.

What piece in the flow or additional software piece is required for me to close the gap?

Had searched the internet on that big time. Found some hints on Dolby web-pages pointing to Github, where a (let’s call it) ADM-to-EAC3 converter can be compiled and used. I am somewhat knowledgeable on software, but not straight out of the box.

On TrueHD generation, I found (but am not sure), that certain modules from the Dolby Media Production suite may still be required.

Could you please give me some hints to clear my brain gap?

Regards

Juergi